Suggestion/Feedback -- trim the fat from the board

thomas

Inspired by this thread

Just putting this out there as a list of things I on the board that I  could personally do without.  I mean, I really like the new site, but until it's running on its own quad xeon server with 4 gigs of ram us freeloaders can definitely make some sacrifices for performances sake. 

Now, I've no experience with SMF so I'm not sure how hard editing the post templates is, but I'm certian you could trim at least 10 to 20k  off of every page full of replies and lord knows how many db calls.  I think average thread page size right now is somewhere near 80-100k, so losing 12.5-20% of that would surely help.  Anyways, here goes. 

1) Don't show who's browsing a thread at the top.  Why do I need to know that?  It's nice, but not needed. 

2) Remove the Stars, and that " [>Online]  Online " status bars from under a users avatar in a post.  I read somewhere else postcounts are leaving too, but we needn't stop there :)

3) At the top of every reply in a thread is the text:

RE: [thread title]

<< Reply #xx on: Yesterday at xx-xx-xx PM >>

I realize that its original intent is to help people keep track of tangents in threads but let's face it we'll just start a new one if we need to anyway :tongue3:  Nor do we need to know what reply # a certian persons post is/was.  Just time time and date of the reply please. 

4) The forum "jumpto" box in the bottom right corner.  I won't lose any sleep if it's gone -- I mean, it's 1 freakin extra click to get to a forum.

5) Remove the "users online", "calendar", "forum stats"  and "NUFC Forum - Info Center" features on the forums front page.  The front page of most forums is the biggest source of unnecessary load and think about it -- why do guests need to see that information?  If we must keep it, reserve the showing of it for registered members.