Your city.

brummie

Is even better than it was when i was a student there 20 years ago.

Went up there yesterday for the first proper visit since I left 18 years ago, after 4 brilliant years, and had a really good time (see "Hotels" thread). Stayed at the Malmaison, which was nice (stayed at the one in Brum before, seems to have the same darkness / purple thing going on).

Revisited some of the old haunts, was nice to see the Egypt Cottage is still there, shlepped around Jesmond and Heaton a bit, even took a brief trip to Bensham, where I also lived. Was surprised to see that the immediate area actually looked worse than it did in 1989, although some of the worst flats on that main road have gone, which is good.

Went to the Baltic this morning, and was incredibly impressed, that place would be a jewel for any British city, London included.

Was pretty impressed with the changes on the Quayside (very much like Brindleyplace up here, if you've ever been there), nice mixture of new stuff and renovated old buildings. When I left the city the first new bars were just opening up there, so was interesting to see how things have developed. Had a very nice meal in Gusto last night, would recommend that place. Also, that Bar Luga place up on Grey Street is very nice indeed.

It was the first time the Mrs had ever been there, and she too was very impressed with the city.

All in all, a massive  :thup: - was definitely the right decision to be a student up there, and would recommend anyone thinking of doing the same to do it 20 years on.

Oh, is Greggs originally a Geordie thing?

The Mrs couldn't believe how many branches there were. I seem to remember Greggs getting many mentions in the context of FFS. It kind of makes sense now ;)

t'is a geordie thing but in leeds they did have an identical operation called thurstons.

divvent tell every bugger man....we'll be ower ran.