Jump to content

Q Awards 2009

Happy Face

Recommended Posts

Pop stars Lady Gaga and Lily Allen have scooped prizes at the Q Awards, edging out rock bands including Kings Of Leon and Kasabian.


Allen's single The Fear won the best track prize, beating Kasabian's Fire and Arctic Monkeys' Crying Lightning.


Lady Gaga took video of the year for Just Dance - but was not present to accept her award.


The pop theme persisted when Frankie Goes To Hollywood were given the Classic Song prize for Relax.


Released 25 years ago, the song was banned Radio One when it first came out.


The band's original frontman, Holly Johnson, told BBC News: "25 years years ago I came here to the Grosvenor House Hotel to accept the BBC Radio listeners' award for Relax, even though they couldn't actually listen to the record.


"So I think it's quite interesting that the song has stood the test of time and is being honoured here today."


Amy Winehouse was invited to present The Specials with the Q Inspiration award but she got "stuck in a lift" and arrived on stage after they had been given the golden Q prize.


The singer, who recently joined the band on stage at the V Festival, later took the microphone and declared the recently reformed 2 Tone act "the most inspirational band of all time".


Spandau Ballet, who first scored a string of pop hits in the 1980s, received the Q Idol award.


Sonic inspiration


But rock bands persevered in the more traditional categories, with Sheffield's Arctic Monkeys scooping best live act, while Kasabian picked up best album for their number one CD, Fire.   ??? Album?  Fire?


Best new act went to the White Lies, who were presented with their award by Gary Numan.


U2, meanwhile, won the classic album prize for The Unforgettable Fire - the 1984 record that produced the hit single Pride, and brought U2 to a wider audience.


Muse were presented with the trophy for best act in the world today. They beat Coldplay, who dominated the award show last year, but went home empty-handed from Monday's ceremony in London.


The awards were hosted by comic Al Murray in the guise of his Pub Landlord character, who declared 2009 had been a terrible year for music because of "the sad demise of Oasis".


Kanye West protege Mr Hudson was named breakthrough act, while New York rock act Sonic Youth received the innovation in sound accolade.


The underground quintet, led by Thurston Moore, were a key influence on grunge, but have always been associated with experimental recording techniques and heavily-modified guitars with alternative tunings.


Jarvis Cocker was also on hand to present Marianne Faithfull with the Q Icon award. Other lifetime achievement prizes went to Yusuf, formerly known as Cat Stevens, Edwyn Collins and Robert Plant.


Faithfull said: "They've been trying to give me this for years but I was always away on tour.


"It means an awful, I'm very proud to be honoured here today. It makes it all worthwhile."


Q editor-in-chief Paul Rees said: "Q remains proud of the fact that its awards recognising musical achievement and excellence during the past 12 months are decided by the nation's music fans, who once again have voted in their thousands.


"I hope the awards not only highlight the unique breadth of Q's musical world but also the fact that great music remains timeless, enduring and ongoing."



Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Create New...