Playing Golf

Tisd09

Hi guys I started playing about 3 years ago when I bought a full set of clubs for £30 from Sports Direct, thought the price was too good to turn down. Haven't played that much over the years and mainly pitch and putt.

I have only ever played an 18 hole course twice and that was Celtic Manor. 1st time was because my mate wanted a partner and the 2nd time the wife thought it would be a really nice present for me for me birthday, which it is a nice present but she doesn't realise how pants I am. Ddin't record my score 1st time 2nd time it was nearly as embarrasing.

Anyway, I may get a few lessons, just some basic ones as I haven't had one apart from my cousin giving a few tips, is it worth me upgrading my clubs? The set I got are really shit as you can imagine at £30. Is it worth me spening a fortune on lessons or just have a few basic ones?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Take a few basic lessons with the clubs you own. Play a couple of rounds on a full course within a couple of weeks of your lessons.

At that point you will be able to tell if you are into the game or not.

If you want to continue, you don't have to buy a full set all at once. Buy a decent putter to start, then the woods and finally a good iron set. That way you won't have to spend all at once and you can learn about how you play so you can buy the right equipment.

• 4 months later...

Don't try and hit the ball too hard. Make sure your grip is right on the club, then work on your swing. Slow and easy at first. If you try and pulverise the ball straight off you'll end up chasing it round the trees.

Make sure you feel comfortable with your swing, keeping a good posture also helps!  Don't try to take it seriously as golf is the more frustating game in the world, my game is fine on the practice range, and then goes to pieces when playing

Guest Heneage

Supposed to be playing this for the first time today, any advice?

Wear the most ridiculous clothes you own.