Different forms of martial arts and suchlike

Fatwax

I've been considering taking up some kind of martial art as some extra fitness but I'm really not sure what as I've never done anything like it before. I did a very small amount of boxing when I was younger but never much more than sparring.

What martial arts have people on this board done? I know very little about the different kinds. Cheers.

I did alot of judo when I was younger. Not technically a marshal art, is actually a sport and is basically Ju Jitsu without punches or kicks so you can compete without (badly) smashing each other in. Is outstanding fitness training if you do it right.  Involves strength, fitness and stamina, and the sessions are some of the best phys I have ever done. Stopped doing it when I snapped my arm though!

I remember doing karate when I was little and it was turbo dog wank.

If you want to learn to really fuck people up, do Krav Maga, if you enjoy shit on your cock, do Capiero, the gayest thing ever.

I've been considering taking up some kind of martial art as some extra fitness but I'm really not sure what as I've never done anything like it before. I did a very small amount of boxing when I was younger but never much more than sparring.

What martial arts have people on this board done? I know very little about the different kinds. Cheers.

More important to find a genuine teacher, one that understands the whole field and not some jackass that that just wants to be able to maim everyone else.

Personally I'd suggest Fong Yang due to their adaptabilty and utilisation of different styles. But you'd be lucky to find a decent sensai, there was only one in the UK that I knew about nearly 20 years ago. Might have changed.

Any genuine Chinese style is your best bet, seriously avoid Japanese versions as they never understood and cut out everything but the martial aspects in most cases.

Also some Indian styles are well worth pursuing but see above re: finding an appropriate teacher.