American sports

Guest OmahaNUFC

Guest OmahaNUFC

Is there much of a following for any particular American sport in England?  Is there any TV coverage of American sporting events?

Myself, I've been a life-long Chicago Cubs fan.  Supposedly my great-grandfather was offered a contract to pitch for the Cubs but turned it down for some asinine reason like raising a family.  That's where my family support of the Cubs originated.  I live in Nebraska but went to two playoff games when the Cubs made their ill-fated run in 2003.

I also follow college basketball quite passionately, since the university I graduated from has a decent "mid-major" basketball program (see my avatar), although we lost tonight.  My university also has a very good football program (we don't have an American football team, however) and recently built a very nice venue in downtown Omaha.  I've lost all interest in college American football due to the stupidity in which they determine who plays for the championship.  I passingly pay attention to the NFL, but more and more I view American football as boring and over-hyped.  The NBA is boring as hell.  I've always liked hockey but never gotten into it.

Guest Gemmill

I've been to a few baseball games - SF Giants and Houston Astros - and they were both pretty much snoozefests, and I went to watch the Golden State Warriors solely because Jordan was gonna be playing (for the Wizards or whatever they were called) in his last season.  The game was dire, and Jordan was pap.

In fact the most exciting thing about it was that everyone got a free churro if either team got over 100 points, so once the score got into the 90s, the entire stadium filled with fat Americans ( ;) )was chanting "Chu-rro!  Chu-rro!  Chu-rro!" :lol:  It would be like going to a match and the fans chanting "Bov-ril!  Bov-ril!" in first half injury time.  "There's only one balti pie.  Oooooone balti pie."