Personal Finance Thread

mods please delete/merge if there is already one of these threads, but thought it would be good to have somewhere to discuss personal finance tips on managing money, savings, maybe some investments in stocks etc, that kind of thing.

we've just came back from holiday and have decided we need to be better with money, we both earn decent enough cash but never seem to be able to build much of a savings pot, we don't do badly in terms of holidays etc, but we seem to waste money and aren't the best at budgeting/saving etc and owed like to improve.

does anyone use any apps or spreadsheets to among personal spends/create savings goals etc (i think some banks offer this but we have very basic co-op accounts and they don't, sadly).

Guest firetotheworks

I'm not very good with money, but one thing I've finally stopped is buying my lunch when I'm at work. I was spending around £75 - £100 a month just on shite from Tesco.

I'm not very good with money, but one thing I've finally stopped is buying my lunch when I'm at work. I was spending around £75 - £100 a month just on s**** from Tesco.

I reckon I spend double Mate, no joke. £10 a day on cafe food easy. Ridiculous really.

Digit is a great app for saving for specific things (not retirement, basically). Not sure if it's available in the UK

thanks i'll have a look at that.

Chip is similar and available in the UK.

Great, I’ll try this out

mods please delete/merge if there is already one of these threads, but thought it would be good to have somewhere to discuss personal finance tips on managing money, savings, maybe some investments in stocks etc, that kind of thing.

we've just came back from holiday and have decided we need to be better with money, we both earn decent enough cash but never seem to be able to build much of a savings pot, we don't do badly in terms of holidays etc, but we seem to waste money and aren't the best at budgeting/saving etc and owed like to improve.