Burning DVDs

GM

Realise I will sound like a total noob/'tard here but need to know the answer so anyway...

If you want to burn a DVD of a programme that's about 90 minutes long, what sort of discs do you need so that you can send a copy of the programme to a mate on disc?

blueconfused.gif

Eh? Do you want to burn a DVD (for viewing on a bog-standard DVD player) or an XVID/similar (for viewing on a PC/fancy DVD player)?

In either case, how big is the file? Over 700mb and you'll need a DVD regardless.

Eh? Do you want to burn a DVD (for viewing on a bog-standard DVD player) or an XVID/similar (for viewing on a PC/fancy DVD player)?

In either case, how big is the file? Over 700mb and you'll need a DVD regardless.

For now, just want to burn a 733MB file to disc and a 614MB file to another disc - but not sure what sort of discs I need to buy.

Told you I'd sound a complete mong...no idea what you mean by XVID?

• 1 month later...
Guest makemeacupoftea

And are you wanting to send them to someone so they can watch on their telly via a bog-standard DVD player or on their PC?

To do that dave (watch on tv) what do i need to do?

It depends entirely on your processing power. It would probably speed up from that (providing you leave it running and do nothing else), but expect at least 3-4 hours.

Like the man says it depends upon your system, on mine it pretty much takes as long to convert a film using dvdsanta as it would to watch it. This is my spec:

AMD Athlon 64 processor 3000+, 1.84ghz, 1.00gb of ram.

If yours is better than that it'll take less time, if it's worse it'll take longer.

Alternatively, you could give SUPER a shot, I've installed it, but not really used it much yet, so I don't know if it's better than DVDSanta or not, but I think it might be a bit faster - not sure why I think that, but I do. You can get it from here:

http://www.erightsoft.com/SUPER.html