learning the drums?

Guest maddog

Guest makemeacupoftea

yeh i play the drums

when starting try and get RHYTHM!

start by consistently hitting the hi hat and then adding bass drum and snare drum( at seperate hits)

---h---h---h---h---h---h---h---h---h---h---h---h---h---h--h--

-------------s----------------s-----------------s----------------s

---b-----------------b----------------b-----------------b

h = hithat

s = snare

b= base

you should understand it and follow it

dont play while looking at it, you wont be able too!

just look and try and take it in then play

you might not understand this...oh well

Guest Alan Shearer 9

drumming is pretty hard imo. I'm good at the bongos because I got the rhythm but it's the cordination that gets me.

Guest toonelaide

I'm a drummer who played seriously for a long time, but now only bash them a few times a year. Find a mate whoes a drummer and ask him to show you the simple rock beat, then you'll be having plenty of fun. In general though I'd advise getting one-on-one lessons, for any instrument, if you self teach you might develop bad habits, a good teacher should at least give you good basics, and like anything, the basics matter. Also I advise looking into Jazz drumming, even if you have no intention of playing jazz, it will make you a much better musician and will improve your other styles

Guest gimp suit

i learnt in high school but never went so far as to join a band or anything. still drum endlessly away to every single song. even when i'm playing an air guitar i'm strumming to the durmbeat as opposed to the guitar beat.

what i recommend is a simple rock beat that in high school, was called "rock 4" i think. so do the following in a simple beat, fast or slow:

R R B R

R = Right

B = Both (right and left)

keep doing that. just tap the desk or anything really. it will work with most songs, apart from maybe needing to do it faster and stuff.