Jump to content

Seven new players named in Ireland squad for San Marino


Recommended Posts

Ireland manager Steve Staunton named seven uncapped players on Tuesday in a 24-man squad for the Euro 2008 Group D qualifier in San Marino on Feb. 7.

"I knew when I took the job that there were young players with the potential to play senior international football," Staunton said in a statement. "It is up to them now to show me that they should be in the starting 11."


Charlton Athletic reserve goalkeeper Darren Randolph is among those with a chance to win their first cap as usual keeper Shay Given is out with a groin injury.

Also missing with hamstring injuries are Charlton midfielder Andy Reid and Reading's Kevin Doyle. Returning after lengthy recoveries from injuries are Levante's Ian Harte and Newcastle United's Stephen Carr.


Ireland are fifth in the seven-team group.



Goalkeepers: Wayne Henderson (Brighton & Hove Albion), Nicky Colgan (Barnsley), Darren Randolph (Charlton Athletic)


Defenders: Steve Finnan (Liverpool), Ian Harte (Levante), Paul McShane (West Bromwich Albion), Richard Dunne (Manchester City), Stephen Carr (Newcastle United), John O'Shea (Manchester United)


Midfielders: Jonathan Douglas (Leeds United), Lee Carsley (Everton), Kevin Kilbane (Wigan Athletic), Stephen Ireland (Manchester City), Darron Gibson (Royal Antwerp), Alan Quinn (Sheffield United), Stephen Quinn (Sheffield United), Stephen Hunt (Reading)


Forwards: Damien Duff (Newcastle United), Aiden McGeady (Celtic), Robbie Keane (Tottenham Hotspur), Andy Keogh (Wolves), Anthony Stokes (Sunderland), Stephen Elliott (Sunderland), Shane Long (Reading)

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Create New...