I see it ... very clearly. No need to swan dive, it most likely convinced the referee it was more play acting than contact. VAR have been given clear guidance to only overturn a decision if there is a clear undebatable error been made. This one isn't clear it was highly unlikely to be overturned. he reality is, had ASM not gone down like he'd been shot, we'd probably have the penalty.
That said I think it's debatable it was a penalty in the first place - he appears to plant his foot then slip under his momentum before his theatrical display. If it had been at the other end of the pitch and Leeds had been awarded a penalty we'd have been livid, and rightly so.