But Jelavic was offside from the initial shot. How that's not gaining an advantage I'm not sure.
Having seen the replay again, it was an attempted "clearance" from the Irish player so guess that it's not offside if the defender had "control" of the situation?
Yeah I know it came off a defender last, but Jelavic was already offside when the first shot was struck outside the box (as was another attacker). Presumably it classes as a second phase or whatever bollocks, but he clearly gained an advantage and that's what the rule is supposed to prevent.
Looks like it. I'm confused now though!