Jump to content

England’s Dan Burn - Signs Contract Extension until 2027 (Official)


Recommended Posts

The ball looks like it strikes Burn below the armpit line to me. So I think it was definitely a handball.

 

I can also see why it could've got a yellow. But referees are so incredibly inconsistent on fouls that prevent counter attacks. Sometimes referees are chucking yellow cards at everything and sometimes they just give fouls until there has been half a dozen such fouls. 

Link to post
Share on other sites

10 minutes ago, AyeDubbleYoo said:

The yellow card for stopping a counter has definitely become less common. Not sure if it’s a directive but it used to be basically automatic. 

I think the rule you're thinking of is in the list of what makes unsporting behaviour, which is a booking:

 

"commits any other offence which interferes with or stops a promising attack except where the referee awards a penalty kick for an offence which was an attempt to play the ball or for a challenge for the ball"

 

Not sure when an attack becomes 'promising' though

Link to post
Share on other sites

7 minutes ago, jonny1403 said:

Well yes, by the letter of the law it is. Hence why the ref gave it. :bob:

Ref giving it or not is irrelevant really considering they get things wrong. As it hits Burn he's moved his arm into a natural position and imo it doesn't hit the 'handball zone' anyway.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Here's an article about stopping promising attacks that I largely can't be arsed to read. But skimming it one thing it does talk about is possession.

 

"This is a key aspect of SPA [stopping a promising attack]. Without possession or the likelihood of an attacker to gain possession of the ball when the offence occurs, there can be no SPA."

 

So in a handball like Burn's, the fact you can't be sure where the ball was going to go, or if the attacking team would have retained posession possibly means it arguably doesn't fall into the definition of stopping a promising attack. Or at least my guess is that's why there was no booking. Again it's a judgement call.

 

For the record I do think it was a handball though.

 

 

Edited by Checko

Link to post
Share on other sites

7 minutes ago, Kid Icarus said:

Ref giving it or not is irrelevant really considering they get things wrong. As it hits Burn he's moved his arm into a natural position and imo it doesn't hit the 'handball zone' anyway.

Agree to disagree, I think it’s clear the ball hits him below his armpit from both the stills and the video and his arm is still extended away from his body. 

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
×
×
  • Create New...